The Smell of Cat Pee!

When I went out into my back yard to pick some weeds out of the bogs the other day, I got that familiar whiff of cat urine! No, I don’t own a cat… frankly, I detest the little creatures (sorry to all the cat lovers out there).  So why does my bog area smell like cat piss ? Simple I’ve got a whole mess of Sarracenia flava in bloom!

Sarracenia flava flowers have a very unique scent to say the least.  The best description… “Cat Pee”. The fact that the flowers are yellow is just a coincidence! Although the odor is compared to cat pee, the scent isn’t actually unpleasant… just unique!

Sarracenia flava are the largest blooms in the genus in some cases up to 12 cm in diameter.

Other flowers in the bogs are getting close.  The photo below shows a S. flava x S. purpurea hybrid about to flower.  As I mentioned in a previous post, this is a “wild hybrid” so to speak.  When I was in my early teens, I had a small turtle pool bog in the backyard of my parents house.  At the time, I was growing S. purpurea ssp purpurea from a bog not far from my childhood home.  I also had some S. flava var rugelii from Statesboro GA.  One spring I found a few hybrids growing in the bog.  Now, 30 years later, I still grow this plant, and have spread it around to many other Canadian growers.  It’s a really robust grower… I’ve been wanting to name it for many years… maybe someday I will.

Hey I have an idea.  At the end of the growing season, after posting photos of this plant, maybe I can open up a thread where people could suggest names!  The winner, getting a piece of the plant!  I’ll have to think about that… it might be fun!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Smell of Cat Pee!

  1. Rob says:

    Hey Carl! BEAUTIFUL photos and what a freekin’ awesome looking place you have there! Sarracenia heaven bro!

    I think a naming contest should be fun! Can’t wait to see photos of the plant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

