Before and After

 

So here’s the bogs as they looked earlier this spring.  Basically they consisted of a bunch of kiddie pools randomly sunk into the ground. As mentioned in an earlier post, they were supposed to be a temporary thing after I got rid of my greenhouse.  Well, they ended there much longer.  This year was the year to “take the Sarracenia by the roots”, and finally build a more permanent and more visually appealing setup.

So here is the BEFORE

and here is the AFTER

Between the bogs are walkways for weeding. The ground was covered with weed mat to prevent things from growing then covered with a 5 or so cms of mulch.  The large mulched are in the top left of the photo is where the huge block of cement was.  As it turned out, I needed to add one more bog by the house as I ran out of space.  The space where the block is actually is now serving an access point to three of the bogs for weeding and watering (if need by).

Now I just have to get rid of the pools that are filled with excess dirt and grass the areas in front of the gardens.  All in all, I’m very happy with how these bogs turned out.  The plants have much more space to grow, get more light and there is much less “open” area where weeds can colonize.  This setup should be much easier to maintain.

Hopefully the plants will start to recover quickly and put a nice show this fall. I can’t wait to see these bogs in a couple of years…. I think they are going to be quite the show!

CJM

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Before and After

  1. lacey j. says:

    Your new bogs look fantastic! Do you keep the plants in individual pots or are they free root?

  2. Carl Mazur says:

    Thanks very much. No all my plants are free root.

  3. Julian says:

    Love it Carl. Yeah, your bogs are going to look stunning in the seasons ahead.

  4. John says:

    Wow the new bogs look awesome! Can’t wait to see a picture of them in the fall, as you say, when the plants recover and fill out even more…Incredible 🙂

  5. Drew says:

    I’m blown away by the fact that you grow those flytraps! I wonder if I could create a small carnivorous plant garden in Burlington. I mean, I’m near the lake, so the climate mIggy be essentially the same as Niagara

  6. Carl Mazur says:

    Drew,
    I know a guy who grows them in Montreal outdoors! You just have to make sure you mulch them with pine needles or straw, and keep them covered with snow when you can. I don’t know if you read some of my older posts, but if you take a look, or follow along here as the season progresses, I’ll show you what you need to know.

  7. Drew says:

    My list of questions is infinite. I started scoping out spots on my backyard today to put in a CP garden. I suppose full sun is essential—no? Do you water with tap water? Using hose? I thought that would be bad for the plants. I didn’t think it would be humid enough, formlong enough of the season for flytraps.

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Drew,
      When I got the comment from wordpress, they said I could reply directly to you… so I gave it a shot LMK if you got it!

  8. Drew says:

    Sorry, Carl, I did not.

Leave a Reply

