It’s that time of the Season

20121106-163503.jpg

We had our first freezing temperatures last night. It won’t be long before the winter snow is upon us. So I took the first step in preparing my bogs for the winter. With clippers and leaf bag in hand… I cut back all the pitchers.

After that, out came the leaf blower… and i blew out all the leaves and debris. In about a month… It will be time for the pine needles.

CJM

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s that time of the Season

  1. Jay Lechtman says:

    Now I have The Zombies song (of nearly the same name), stuck in my head. Have to try the Gentian … I only have Spiranthes as a fall-blooming companion at this point.

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Jay. The Gentiana autumnalis is goreous right now. John is going to grow me some of the really blue ones… I’m sure if you drop him a line he’ll be able to help you out. Oh, thanks for the photos… I’ll be posting them here soon.

  2. Lois M. Ochs says:

    Thanx for the update
    seeds arrived safely last week
    thanx again
    Lois

  3. daryl kruger says:

    Hey Carl,

    Love your posts and great information. One question, I have very healthy flytraps and sarraseniea – leucophillia and flava in large pots which I think need to be winterised in the garage. The question is: when should I bring them in, as last year was the first time I succeeded in keeping them alive.

    Best Regards,

    Daryl

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Thanks Daryl… Great news on your plants. My thoughts are to leave them out as long as possible. I’d say another couple of weeks barring any really cold nights. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

