Hey, who turned on “summer”?

new bog

So April turned out to be a wonky month… temps were up, down and all over the place.  Cool nights, even frosty at points!  Then… April 30th BAMM! Someone turned on the “summer switch”, well not summer, but a really warm spring!  Every day since then, its been consistently in the low to mid 20’s C (mid to high 70’s F)  with nights 10-12C (50-54F).  The landscape went from looking pretty much like it did in winter, to things pretty much being “summer-like” in literally in a couple of weeks.  It was certainly welcome after the long, winter!

As you can see in the photo above, the Sarracenia are waking up and, if the weather keeps up, I should have flowers in a week or so! With flowers comes hybrids… There are a couple that I want to do this year. I have this really cool “peewee” antho free flava, the pitchers don’t really get much higher than 30-35 cms. I’m going to cross it out with AF purpurea venosa, and possibly an AF leuco as well.  That’s assuming of course I get a good flower.  This is first time this little flava has flowered for me (I’ve had it for 8 years).  So hopefully all will go well.

You can also see in the photo that I’m making another bed.  There is a couple reasons for this.  Reason one, you can never have enough spaces to grow Carnivorous Plants, and two, I want to create a dedicated “protected” space for my collection of venus flytrap cultivars.  Protected? Why protected? Protected from What????? SQUIRRELS!

Anyone who grows Sarracenia or other CP outside in this part of the world knows about dreaded “tree rats” – Squirrels!  I’ve purposely not posted my annual rant about these pesky creatures… cause, well… it would be same post I made last year, and the year before that. Broken record syndrom!!! They’re cute enough don’t get me wrong, but they can wreak havoc in outdoor bogs! These guys love to root around and bury things in my bogs, and in so doing, inadvertently dig up my flytraps and small Sarracenia.

This new bog garden will “squirrel-proof”!!! I’m putting an electric fence around it, with razor wire, barbed wire, poison and motion targeting lasers! I wish! I’m going to build a mesh cover that will keep the critters out.  That way, my lovely flytrap cultivar collection can flourish, in a happy, squirrel free environment.  My other bogs will still be home to the hundreds of nondescript flytraps i have… so if a squirrel digs up a couple of those from time to time, I won’t be as upset!  My prized flytraps however, will now be safe!

Hopefully I will get this new bed finished up in the next week or so!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hey, who turned on “summer”?

  1. Steve Booth says:

    Ahh Its great when the whether changes and things start to move, your bogs are ahead of me in Birmingham UK but I know mine will catch up. Nice idea for the squirrel proof VFT area, good luck with that.
    Cheers
    Steve

  2. Great post! Looking forward to seeing your plants wake up. The pee wee flava AF catesbaei cross sounds pretty cool!

  3. DW says:

    Don’t hate me for this but I gave your blog a recognition. Check it out at http://jigsawcarnivores.blogspot.fi/2013/05/recognition-tunnustus.html

  4. tyrannovar says:

    For squirrels and rabbits, bird netting, the flimsiest plastic stuff you can find, make a fence around the garden about a foot high, you can step over it, and leave the net very loose so the squirrels can’t climb. I used this when squirrels and rabbits were attacking my seedling pots. I just found your blog so sorry if bird netting is old news.

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Bird netting!… mmm I will have to look into that… where do you get it? Home depot? Lowes? Garden center?

      • tyrannovar says:

        Oh Yea. Bird netting. Guaranteed. Home Depot. Comes in a 2 foot roll I think, about 25 feet long.. 2 feet high is about right. Make a little rabbit/squirrel fence a foot or two high. You can step over it. I’m pretty sure the squirrels and rabbits see it as a snare or trap and stay away, don’t even try it. Use some kind of flimsy post at the four corners. I used bamboo but I’m guessing some kind of thin plastic flexible rod, about 1/8 inch so it’s flexible. I’m thinking you don’t want 2×4 posts in the corners that the squirrels might try climbing. The bird net is not bird screen that people put over the top which is heavier. It’s the real flimsy stuff. My little bamboo and bird net fence looked ratty but worked perfectly. But I’m sure you could experiment and make something that looks good too. Maybe a 1 foot fence attached right to your wooden rectangles with 1×2 corner posts and then just drape some loose stuff over the posts so the squirrels wont try the posts. No more rabbits and squirrels.

        It’s quick and dirty and cheap and it works, until some one has a better idea.

        I have a little terrestrial orchid garden here in zone 5. Luckily squirrels and rabbits don’t like to eat orchids but I’ve got tons of acorns and the squirrels are digging in the orchid garden all the time to bury nuts so I finally had to put a one foot square of chicken wire with a hole in the middle for the pant flat around each orchid then cover it with mulch and pine straw mulch so I don’t see the chicken wire, it looks natural, but the squirrels somehow sense the chicken wire and don’t even try digging by the chicken wire. Worked perfectly. Problem solved.

      • Carl Mazur says:

        That’s great info… thanks!

        > Date: Mon, 30 Sep 2013 15:55:01 +0000 > To: carl.mazur@sympatico.ca >

      • tyrannovar says:

        I found an old roll of that stuff, it’s called BIRD BLOCK by Easy Gardener. I’m sure I got it at Home Depot although I get lots of stuff like that from EBAY, saves driving and cheap shipping sometimes. This roll is 14 feet by 14 feet. I guess people use it to go over the top of tomatoes or whatever. I just cut it into strips to make a fence. It’s so light if it goes over the top it doesn’t need any support except at the edges. It’s flimsy, like spider web, but the squirrels and bunnies won’t mess with it. Being so thin it’s almost invisible from a distance, aesthetically pleasing as you can get unless you have no fence at all.

Leave a Reply

