VFT’s Gone Wild!

As you may have read in a previous post, I’ve been having issues with squirrels… (and now rabbits).  These critters love to dig around and uproot my flytraps…  my solution, a dedicated flytrap bog, that will have a wire mesh over top to keep out the squirrels.

With a little wood, plastic, peat moss and silica, my flytraps have a new home.

vft

So I went around my bogs and dug up all the mature flytraps I could find and relocated them to their new home.  Any specific cultivars get their own little label to say they are special, while the rest of the space is filled up with “generic” plants.  Should be an impressive show later in the season… I’ll post photos as the season moves on.

Speaking of flytraps… I purchased a bunch of tissue cultured cultivars from the flytrapstore  They are all outside now, and pretty much fully acclimatized. They will also find their way into this bog. I purchased DCXL, FTS Yellow, Purple Ambush, DC All Red and Maroon Monster.  They are going to look amazing!

CJM

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

