This is Different.

drosera

Us folks in colder climates are always limited in what we can grow outdoors… cause of this thing called “A FREAKING HORRIBLY COLD SNOWY TIME OF YEAR THAT CAUSES DEPRESSION AND THE NEED TO HOLE UP IN YOUR HOUSE”, better known as Winter.

Slowly but surely, I plan on trying to see if other North American species are hardy outside here.  I haven’t tried any North American pinguicula yet.  My friend in Virginia grows them outside…  and he gets cold, So its something I’d like to try.  Anyway, that’s for another post.

What you are looking at in the photos is Drosera binata.  This species and all its forms have proven hardy here in zone6B.  They die to ground every year, but come back from the roots.  I don’t know if that’s what happens in their native habitats (Julian?), but they don’t seem any worse for wear.  I’ve grown these outside for eight years now… and never had an issue! They produce copious leaves and flower prolifically!  I don’t know if they will reproduce from seed, I’ve never let them seed! I always cut off the stalks.  Maybe this year I’ll leave them and see what happens 🙂

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This is Different.

  1. John Nielsen says:

    Hi again Carl,
    I’ve seen Drosera binata growing in parts of Australia that get snow for a significant part of the winter (specifically Cradle Mountain in Tasmania). In that habitat, they do disappear back to a very compact bud during the winter and emerge again in spring much as what you’ve shown here. Other forms of Drosera binata from very different environments also do this – I have a Queensland form of D. binata (var. multifida form ‘extrema’) that grows year around in its native subtropical conditions (comparable to far southern Florida), but goes dormant in exactly the same way as the Tasmanian form. It and two other binata forms (Marston Mill and a clone from Lithgow, New South Wales) survive their pots freezing solid (air temps of -8*C). I think you’d probably find most binata forms, Drosera arcturi and some (but not all) forms of Drosera peltata sensu lato will also grow for you and multiply if you have a big enough founding population (important!). You could also try Drosera pygmaea – it also grows with binata at Cradle Mountain in Tasmania. I grow forms of pygmaea from coastal New South Wales and Kangaroo Island (South Australia) here in Canberra and both have performed well under identical conditions to what I describe above. Drosera burmannii “Beerwah” also survives and spreads under these conditions (again, if you have enough of a founding population – it will peter out and disappear if you start with too few plants).
    Cheers,
    John N.
    PS – you might need another clone of binata to get seeds – a weedy T form that arrived with a Sarracenia selfs well in my experience, but most all other clones will not self and need to be crossed with another clone.

    • Carl Mazur says:

      John,

      Thanks so much for reply… I’ve never thought to try some of the drosera you mention. It was quite an accident that I figured out that binata would survive here. I found one randomly growing in my bog garden around one of my Sarracenia the year after I moved them from the greenhouse to their outdoor home. I remembered having them growing as weeds in pots, but left them. It went to reason, that this was a carry over from a potted plant in the greenhouse. Since it was there the year AFTER I moved them out, it just made sense that it must have over wintered! So, I got a few clones of a T form binata and put them out! The rest is history.

      I think I’m going to have to try some of these others you mentioned.

      Thanks John!

  2. Paul Barden says:

    That’s great that D. binata survives in your climate! I would not have expected that. I have the dwarf red form of D. dichotoma growing here in Sarracenia pots that winter outside, and those overwinter without a problem. (Mind you, this is zone 8a, so not the same deal) If you’d like to grow the dwarf red dichotoma (its really pretty!) I can send you seeds; it has just produced its first crop. Happy to send you some!

  3. Martin says:

    Hello Carl,
    First time I write something in your blog. Really nicely done. I only want to let you know that I live in Quebec City (zone 4b) and I’ve been growing Pinguicula corsica in my bog for 2 years now. They do their hibercula and stay in this form under the snow without problem so you should be able to grow them easily. I’m trying 3 new pings species this year. My d. binata survive the winter in the unheated garage but I think I’ll try some outside next year. Thank you for sharing your experiment.

    • Carl Mazur says:

      That is awesome news… glad to hear there are people in even colder places growing Carnivores outdoors. I’m sorry, I’m a sarracenia guy, so I’m not much up my butterworts, but I will have to look up P. corsica… ! Sounds like I have to find me one 🙂

      • Martin says:

        Yeah, on my side, I’m evaluating if my bog get enough sun to grow nice sarracenia 🙂 I have some p. corsica seeds if you wish to try them that way. Otherwise, I should have some hibercula next Spring. Good growing.

  4. Dee says:

    Just came to your blog from a link from TerraForums. This is my first try at carnivorous plants, and I am delighted to hear that someone (several someones) north of me are able to overwinter so many of them outside (I am in central Arkansas, zone 7b). Have bookmarked your blog to read often.

    Dee

Leave a Reply

