Pawpaw – This is not a Carnivorous Plant

20130614-153559.jpg

I just wanted to share…. My pawpaw tree is going to have fruit for the first time! Pawpaws are native to the eastern US… and very rare in Canada… In fact they only occur in the Niagara area and the north coast of Lake Erie. Very few sites…. Maybe 14 total in Niagara.

They call it “The Northern Banana”. I love these things. There is a large stand of them very close to the school where I teach. Every September, I go into the woods to collect Pawpaws!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pawpaw – This is not a Carnivorous Plant

  1. Maryjane Mazur says:

    Do you think you will have quite a few. How do you eat them, I don’t think I have ever seen what the inside looks like. Do they get bigger than what’s shown inthe picture? What do I know about pawpaws, absolutely nothing as you can see, tell me when you come down.

Leave a Reply

