And God Said… Let there be Light!

treeWe’ve lived here in Niagara Falls for 9 years now.  There was only one place on our property where my Sarracenia collection had a chance.  That’s because all around my back yard there are trees… not mine of course, the neighbours.  So no only do the trees block the sun that my plants want… they dump a crap load of leaves in my yard that I have to clean up.  The worst were the neighbours to our south.  Their trees were very tall.

In the early Spring in up to mid Summer, it wasn’t really a huge problem because the sun was high enough in the sky that the trees had no effect, but in August, the sun started to dip behind the tree tops and by September… the sun came up… and 4 or 5 hours later, the light filtered through the trees.  I’m sure I’ve complained about these trees in previous posts somewhere!

Anyway, to my surprise a couple of days ago, I heard chain saws.  I looked out our back window and behold, a daring young man from a local tree cutting services, was high atop the tree cutting down broken branches and the like.  Thinking he was just pruning, I didn’t think much, but low and behold larger branches started falling, 45 minutes later, the entire tree was gone!  I thought that was it.  It was a scraggy tree and had lots of widow makers, so I can  understand why it came down.

Then, they started a second tree, and later a third.  ALL OF THEM!  There are now NO trees blocking my southern exposure… so assuming my plants survived this horrific winter, they should be happy basking in the light!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And God Said… Let there be Light!

  1. Jay says:

    Congratulations! Now all you need to do is salt the earth to keep anything else from ever replacing those trees.

  2. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    Dad & I love it – fantastic for your bogs, the plants will flourish to their full potential. Let it shine , let it shine,let it shine. 😀😀😀

    >

  3. Mike Wang says:

    Every grower’s dream come true:)

  4. Carl Mazur says:

    Oh Ya, I’m so thrilled… I’m even going to plant a couple fruit trees now… One tree will have grafts with peach, plum, nectarine… the other apple, pear and asian pear! can’t wait till spring… but by the way this winter is going, spring will come in July!

Leave a Reply

