The Good, the Bad and the Crazy!

The Good

The good is very simple… my plants survived the coldest winter since 1978!  I don’t know if I mentioned in the last post… I guess I should have checked, but Environment Canada has claimed that this winter has been the coldest since 1978… I can believe it!

I was outside on the weekend cleaning up the bogs, cleaning out the leaves and the pine needles that I left behind and giving the plants a good check.  I’m going to say that 99 percent of the collection came through unscathed.

The Bad

Some of the seedlings didn’t make it (not completely surprised by that), and a few adult plant suffered “heaving”.  This year the soil froze down to the bottom of the bogs and part of the surface heaved up from the ice, exposing some of the rhizomes.  A few of these plants might not make it… but again, only time will tell.  So in the end, I can’t say the plants didn’t suffer some from this winter, but if I was asked “are Sarracenia hardy?” I’d would emphatically say “YES”.    I was thinking of putting up a sign in my bogs, “we survived the coldest winter since 1978”, but people might think I’m weird LOL assuming of course they don’t already think that because of the plants I grow 😉

The Crazy

So I mentioned I was out cleaning out the bogs on the weekend.  The temps on Sunday were in the mid 20’s C, mid 70’s F. This morning, it was icing, and by 9:00 it was snowing!  ARE YOU KIDDING ME!  We finally were getting some decent spring weather, and this happened.   Oh it gets worse.  Tonights low -7C, that’s 20 ishF.  Yep, tomorrows high, 2C, 36F. By Thursday, back up to seasonal values of 15-17C, high 50’s and low 60’s.  I’m really hoping that this is the end of winter!  I’m sick of it!

Its funny… I think back to my younger days, and think of all time and money I invested to keep my collection above freezing (in my greenhouse) during the winter for fear of grim reaper visiting.   Now, I’ve my entire collection living outdoors, doing better than ever…  speaking of which… I can’t wait to see how they do this year without the damn trees blocking my sun!!!!

Speaking of which, I met the new neighbor on the weekend and thanked him for taking the trees.  He looked confused!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Good, the Bad and the Crazy!

  1. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    Sent a reply, not sure if you got it. Loved your description of the Good, Bad & the Crazy. If they survived this horrible winter, they will survive anything. Looking forward to seeing them in their green finery & then in bloom once the warm weather is here to stay.

    >

Leave a Reply

