Guest Bog from Rockland County New York

One of my readers sent me some photos of his his Bog! I asked if he’d mind if I shared them here.  So a big thanks to Aaron.

Aaron lives in Rockland County, New York.  I had no clue where that was, so once again, google came to the rescue.  Rockland County, is on the west side of the Hudson River, north and a bit west of New York City.  According to Aaron, his climate zone classifies as a Zone6b.

The bog is a simple plastic pond liner, purchased at Lowe’s, filled with a peat-sand mix and sunk into the ground.  His outdoor collection consists of  S. flava, S. leucophyla, S. psittacina, S. purpurea ssp. venosa, Dionaea, D. rotundifolia, D. filiformis, and a bunch of as-yet unidentified Sarracenias that he planted as rhizomes.

2014-05-17 16.00.11 2014-05-17 16.03.15 2014-05-17 16.02.47 2014-05-17 16.07.14 2014-05-17 16.04.27 2014-05-17 16.01.27 2014-05-17 16.00.24 2014-05-17 16.00.00 2014-05-17 16.07.41

CJM

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guest Bog from Rockland County New York

  1. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    What a beautiful bog set-up. I am not sure if all of these are contained in one huge container or individual containers. Regardless, the plants are beautiful.

    >

  2. Dee Blakley says:

    I love that! I assume he had the hard winter we had also. Did he say what type of winter protection he used?

  3. Aaron Putnam says:

    Carl: Thank you for posting the images! I look forward to the update on your plants.

    Mary Jane: The bog is all contained within one hard plastic pond liner that is roughly 2 m x 1.5 m or so. It is quite small compared to Carl’s operation!

    Dee: I protected the bog by following the procedures developed and employed by Carl. I covered the bog in a ~20-25 cm layer of pine needles in late November. Snow cover and saturation by water compressed this layer to about 10-15 cm by the end of winter. This was the first winter outdoors for most of these plants. The plants seem to have done quite well, despite this having been among the colder winters for this region in several years! Carl put up with a number of my concerned emails, for which I am grateful.

    All the best,
    Aaron

  4. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m
    trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

