Slow but sure!

bogSm

Well after our record cold February and crapload of snow, there are signs of spring here in zone6b.  We literally went from winter to spring in a week.  Temps were really cold here (still) into the start of March, but then one day, all of a sudden, we got up to seasonal temperature values (3-7C) and the mounds of snow have slowly but surely disappearing. Granted the long range temperature maps suggest we’ll be below average for the rest of March… but at least the snow will be gone!

I am getting anxious to get the needles off and assessing the plants… but alas, its really not warm enough yet.  I have people ask me when is the best time to get the needles off.  The answer is… there is no hard and fast date or time.  The key is to get air circulation to the plants and not let them get too warm too early. Mild daytime temps and cold night time temps are a recipie for mold and at the same time, keeping the needles on the surface  traps heat, which will get the plants moving before they should.  So… I’m thinking it will be in the next couple of weeks. Once all the snow is gone and the days are consistenly over 5C (40F) they need to be uncovered. Sure it can still frost, but they plants are fully dormant and won’t be affected.

As I mentioned in my last post, we had very cold temperatures with now snow for the first half of January. The coldest night in January was -22C (-7F), but on average nights consistently were below-10C (12F)… I’m very curious to see how the plants were affected if they were at all.

Hopefully, I’ll have lots of positive things to report after I get these bogs uncovered! So welcome to spring and the 2015 Growing Season!!!  I hope its a good one!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slow but sure!

  1. Michael says:

    Anxious !! You said it 🙂 iv already finished building my second outdoor water table, last week so let’s get this season going ! ALREADY, so I can fill this one up 🙂 looking forward to 2015 growing & your blog 🙂

  2. Aaron Putnam says:

    That is great to see that your bogs are thawing out. Down here in Tappan, NY (also Zone 6b) the snow has also just melted away from my bog. I was happy to see some still-green S. flava leaves poking out of the now-compressed layer of pine needles. I must admit that I couldn’t help myself and had to get a peak at the S. psittacina that planted last year. I carefully peeled back the needles to reveal the plant, which looks just as it did when I covered it up last autumn (phew). I covered it again, of course. Fingers crossed that all is well with your plants and those down here. Here’s to the 2015 growing season!

  3. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    Nice to read the info on when to take the needles off & what to watch for through the weather changes, hopefully this will be a wonderful new season for your plants.

    >

  4. TommyR says:

    I’m starting to take my plants out of the fridge. VFTs will get re-potted and Sarrs were done last year. My Filiformis didn’t make it. Luckily I stared ome leaf cutting last fall! Tom

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Love the signs of spring. I remember years ago trying to keep filiformis in the fridge… they always rot. Best is to uproot them, give them a shot of fungicide, and put them in a bag of barely damp sphagnum… If you keep them in their pots, let them almost dry out before winter storage

Leave a Reply

