Welcome to 2016

Happy New Year!  I know its January 3rd… Welcome to a new year.  Again the big news in my area (Niagara Falls Canada), is that the temperatures (on average) will be significantly above the seasonal average.  Now this doesn’t mean its not going to be cold, hell, its January! But the month on the whole is supposed to be warmer than the seasonal average of -1C for a high and -7C as a nightime low.

I think its finally time to put the pine needles on the bogs, though I have to admit, I’m feeling like I should see how things go yet a little further.  However, I’m going to err on the side of caution, mild days and cold nights spell trouble.   Tonight and tomorrow will be cold, -10C for a low tonight and only -9C for high tomorrow! however, up around 6C for the rest of the week… with nights are going to be cold between -3C and and -8C.

So what’s the trouble?  Freeze/Thaw cycles.  Keeping the plants frozen is the best thing for them in this climate.  So the pine needles, although not a great insulator, keep the drying winds off the plants so they don’t freeze dry, but more importantly the keep they sun (if its out) off the surface of the bogs so they don’t heat up and thaw… thus keeping them frozen.

This is officially the latest I’ve ever put pine needles on my bogs…  With El Nino promising to play a significant roll in February and March as well, one can only hope that they will come off early too!

CJM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to 2016

  1. Radagast says:

    Good luck! I live in Zone 5 and will be putting in a bog next Spring. I have a feeling your blog will come in very handy as a nice reference!

    Rich

    • Carl Mazur says:

      Good luck with YOUR bogs next spring… I hope you find the info here helpful! If you every have any questions… please drop me a line! Happy New Year

  2. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    Happy new year! If I’m not mistaken, this is the latest you have ever gone before putting the pine needles down. That in itself is amazing. Hoping there will not be too much snow &the plants will nicely rejuvenate themselves come spring. Looking forward to 2016 Zone6b Blog and n updates.

    >

Leave a Reply

