SUMMER!

bog80932

So here we are… early July.  Everything is growing amazingly well this season.  The big divide and cleanup has certainly made a difference on the plants.  As far as maintenence goes, I’ve clipped off all the flowers… Since I didn’t make any hybrids this year, there is no sense burdening the plants with the task of making seeds.

In all the literature, they talk about issues about using “tap water” to water CP.  Well, we’ll have to see how much of a negative effect that will have on my plants.  It has been HOT and DRY here this year.  Very little snow over the winter and very little rain… Without a checking and adding up the numbers, we’ve had about 10cms of rain (if that) since April. Because of that, I’ve been watering my bogs exclusively with tap water.  There is thunderstorms in the forecast for the next few days… but they are only due to daytime heating and humidity, so they can fire up pretty much anywhere… So here’s hoping!

bog80934

I love flytraps… and they are incredible this year.  I should have put something in the shot for scale, but these traps are all 25-35 mm in since!  AMAZING!  It never ceases to amaze me how well these plants do here in this climate!

I remember a teacher I had in Grade 5 (a long time ago in a classroom far far away…) telling me that he swears he saw venus flytraps growing in a relic bog near here when he was out hiking.  I remember telling him how absurd that was (likely didn’t use absurd, I was 10). First, I told him, they only grew in the coastal regions of the Carolinas and two, its WAY TO COLD HERE!  Well, point two is now mute, but as for point 1, its possible someone outplanted some… who knows!?

bog80931

I’ve posted about the above plant a few times now.  Its an AF hybrid I made of AF courtii x AF mitcheliana some years back.  Clearly the purpurea parentage has shown dominance… Its not the most attractive thing, but for some reason I keep hoping that its going to do something to impress me.  You can see a white fringe on the leaf in the foreground… maybe in the fall it’ll do something!!!!

CJM

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SUMMER!

  1. Michael says:

    Nice hybrid Carl, the sence of pride when you make your own cross & raising it up to adult feels soooo good eh !! Keep up the great blogs thanks for sharing.

  2. Michael says:

    I forgot to say I too have been using tap water for a few waters now cause I’m out of rain water, let’s hope the water dose not damage our plants eh !!

  3. Julian says:

    Looks like Magic Land there Carl. Nice to see. And, clearly VFTs can grow in cold climates! It would be really interesting to know if they do exist as transplants in the Canadian wilds.

  4. Mary Jane Mazur says:

    Considering the lack of rain, the bog looks great, although rain water probably is better than tap. All looks healthy.

    >

  5. Travis Stritzel says:

    Hello your blog has been a great inspiration for me thankyou. If your interested I started a Facebook group for the more northern growers. Here’s the link, feel free to share also if you would like.

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/975794749215633/

Leave a Reply

